Get the Strap


Toronto hybrid creator Jaz Valentino bares his soul on sophomore album ‘Jaz’s Blues (Side A)’

By  | 


Set for release on April 29 via Canadian indie label and collective Day7 Records, JAZ’S BLUES (SIDE A) is the brand new sophomore album from Toronto hybrid artist, songwriter, and musician JAZ VALENTINO. The 8-track album is the second full-length project in two years from the Grenadian-Serbian native, following last year’s introductory album Day 7, which led to Jaz Valentino reaching the milestone of garnering his first million streams on Spotify alone.


The melodic rap and R&B fusion album Jaz’s Blues (Side A) was preceded by two well-received lead singles that were released to open Jaz Valentino’s 2022 – the Buckroll Beats-produced ‘Snowflakes’, which has garnered over 100,000 plays online, and the recently released introspective offering produced by Arcane Beats titled ‘Wild Weeds’, which is currently being supported by Live Nation’s Ones To Watch, 1883 Magazine, Earmilk and Word Is Bond Magazine, among others.


Jaz’s Blues (Side A) opens with ‘Farmers Land’, a tribute to Jaz Valentino’s father, who passed away from liver cancer when Jaz was only 13, before digging deeper into his trust issues on ‘Eunoia’, addressing his friendships on songs like ‘King City’ and ‘Like Minds’, refocusing on his faith on ‘Blue F’, and closing out the album with ‘Life Waters’, which is about starting over with a clean slate, and features Jaz’s grandmother, who practically raised him.


Speaking about the inspiration behind the album, Jaz Valentino says, “‘Jaz’s Blues (Side A)’ is me baring my soul in the music about the last three years of my life and what I’ve been going through. Flowers come out of the growth process, but no one talks about the pain the bud or seedling go through in the process, and this is what the album represents. I wrote these songs through the pandemic, through finding my feet in the music industry, through countless rejections and breakups.


Recorded between Phoenix, Atlanta and LA, this album is me venting my pain in its rawest form, but it is also a helping hand and motivation for those that are going through depression, illness, financial loss, loss of a loved one – no matter what shade of the blues. I guarantee it’s not foreign to me! I know how it feels to be the ‘E.T’ in the room and you do too! Don’t let anyone warp your magic into a mistake! Claim your power and claim your blues! Let’s turn the blues into greens and golds!


Born and raised in Canada, Jaz Valentino’s music blurs the line between the classic warm tones of R&B and the dynamism of modern hip-hop, while still leaning on his special connection with R&B and rap music. Notable for his evocative sounds, lush melodies, layered texture, captivating hook and introspective lyrics, Jaz Valentino has long been able to connect with listeners on a deeper level, using his ‘less is more’ philosophy to make sure his mixes are not overly crowded, and his songs feel spacious and lush, with plenty of room for his songwriting to stick out.


The brand new album ‘Jaz’s Blues (Side A)’ from Jaz Valentino is out on April 29.



  1. Farmer’s Land
  2. Snowflakes
  3. Eunoia
  4. King City
  5. Wild Weeds
  6. Like Minds
  7. Blue F
  8. Life Waters









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *